Soap bubbles

One of the best things I’ve done this year was buying a bottle of bubble mix, which I keep on my desk next to my pens. Sometimes when I’m bored of work, or want to get some fresh air, I open the window and blow bubbles out into the street below.

IMG_2161

I like blowing bubbles, I like trying to get them to be as big as I can, or to catch them once they’ve floated away. There’s no profound metaphor behind this whimsical hobby, it’s just that – a hobby. A way to pass the time and to unwind. And because I have such an open view over Broad Street, Trinity and Balliol, I can usually follow a couple of them arcing from my bedroom window to the furthest end of the street or up into the sky. A tiny bubble of air from my lungs amongst the spires of Oxford.

Normally I blow the bubbles myself, watch them float over people and buildings and get pulled along in eddies of air and then burst on collision with a wall, or the pavement, or one another. The last few days, however, have been incredibly windy and so I thought I’d let the wind have a go. It wasn’t easy to take pictures of, but I was basically just sticking the wand out of my window and a gust of air would blow some bubbles. You might be surprised by how strong the wind has to be for that to work!

IMG_2150

I’ve never seen anybody down below notice them, though. I do always try to scan the crowd, but so far, nobody’s looking up.

Leave a Reply

